How much do you feel private lessons help you improve?

Libersolis****

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I am going to try and start taking 2 private lessons a month from my instructor. He definitely has encouraged me saying he can really help me tweak my game based on my strengths and weaknesses and body type. For those who have taken private lessons, what has your experience been?

I took a private from my old instructor right before my first comp after I had only a few months of training. It was helpful, but I was still so green the amount I got out of it was obviously limited. The focus of that private was covering some basic escapes.

I've been training for just over 2 years now and I recently did another private with an awesome Pedro Sauer purple belt that was much more helpful. He was able to clean up a lot of little things that I was doing wrong. The focus of this private was more specific to me and how I roll.

It really depends on your instructor in my opinion. But they can help A LOT. Try to focus the private on one area of your game. Guard passes, half guard sweeps, etc. If you try to fix your whole game in one private you'll be disappointed.

It really depends on your instructor in my opinion. But they can help A LOT. Try to focus the private on one area of your game. Guard passes, half guard sweeps, etc. If you try to fix your whole game in one private you'll be disappointed.

I take privates from a purple under Carlos Machado quite regularly. My game in the past 6 months has increased 4 fold. I went from barely being able to compete with my peers to competing with blues.

Renzo is right too, the way I do my privates is one of 2 ways.
1) I know that kasa-gatame (scarfhold) escapes suck, everytime a wrestler gets me there, I'm stuck there until he lets me out. So I ask him to show me 3 escapes and we work on that. I have difficult passing open guard etc. etc. etc.