How long to compete??

PikeKing

White Belt
Reaction score
How much experience/training do you think a person would need to be able to compete in a small scale MMA event without getting totally killed?

That really depends on the person and how fast they learn their stuff. Striking, just long enough to get proficient...with MT the average I have seen before getting into the ring is a year and a half; less if you train hard, more if you don't. Other people on here may see, on average, a different time to get proficient in striking.

Grappling is also essential, but I couldn't tell you how long it would take to get to MMA-level proficiency with it seeing as how I have no experience in it myself.

I'd say how hard you devote... I've seen guys competing after 1 year.

all in how fast you absord things and can put them together, I was ready to compete in Muay Thai after 6 moths but work got in the way and I had to wait, the more you polish, the better.

Compete in boxing or full contact fights before joining mma. It helps you get a feel for your strength and weaknesses.

You can get the basics of grappling in about a year. You should be around blue belt level. Combine that with some striking, and you should be ready for amateur events.

I have been looking into some of the amateur events in my area. They to be quite strict on things you cant do, one that suprised me is no striking above the shoulder. Limits you quite a lot doesnt it?

PikeKing said:
I have been looking into some of the amateur events in my area. They to be quite strict on things you cant do, one that suprised me is no striking above the shoulder. Limits you quite a lot doesnt it?

yes but it's a good place to start