How do you get out of seatbelt position?

S

Splatterbeast

When the guy has both hooks in you and is locked up behind you trying to choke you out? I'm sure they'll cover this in class eventually I just want to be a lil bit ahead of the game :D thanks

I usually just protect my neck and try to get the person to slide higher up my back and look to escape out the back door.

Im sure there are better ways, but Im a noob and in Judo you kinda just stall and the ref lets you up after 5 seconds. Stupid rule.

Obviously against good grapplers, it's one of the worst positions to be in.

Fall towards the arm on the bottom, protect your neck, simultaneously trying to remove a hook and getting your hips on the ground.

1. have a strong neck - I can tuck my neck and keep from getting RNC'd without using my hands.
2. with one hand press down on his knee and pop your leg out from his hook.
3. get your hip on the ground and shrimp away
4. keep your free hand in position to post on your opponent if need be

usually your opponent will attempt to scramble to mount, in which case i found it best to pull half guard.

From half guard look for the lockdown, whip up and then start your sweeps

1. have a strong neck - I can tuck my neck and keep from getting RNC'd without using my hands.
2. with one hand press down on his knee and pop your leg out from his hook.
3. get your hip on the ground and shrimp away
Dangerous. You run the risk of getting your arm trapped by one of his hooks when you reach down (a la BJ Penn).

You want to do #3 before you do #2, and you should always protect your neck. Just tucking your chin in stops working after blue...

Saulo Ribiero has a great Youtube on this escape, would post but am at work and am blocked from Youtube.

Drilled it wednesday night and it's really, really solid.

Cross your hands in front of your neck, one thumb in the collar, one out.