how do the belt levels go in bjj?

nhbjpj

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I just started training with a club and most of them have blue, purple,and brown belts .I didnt want to ask them and look like a moron but how do you calculate that in training time?What are all the belts?I have trained in mma before but they are more bjj and my training is in wrestling muay thai boxing.

Belt levels are very subjective. I've seen some schools promote white belts to blue around 6 months to a year and other schools that will keep a person a white belt for 2 years or more. It also depends on the person to. Before i became a blue belt i was regularly tapping blue belts but its not always about skill level. I needed to make some changes in my life and focus more and ease up on partying and so forth and when i made those changes i got promoted.

Sounds like a good club - better than a bunch of white belt n00bs.

Depends, good guideline is:
White - first year
Blue - 1+ years
Purple - 2+ years
Brown - 3+ years
Black - 5+ years
Red - 40+ years

Some schools give stripes and some schools have tests. It just depends on the instructor and the student....

mepersoner said:
White - first year
Blue - 1+ years
Purple - 2+ years
Brown - 3+ years
Black - 5+ years
Red - 40+ years

Pretty accurate, but add the lower belt's time to the other belt. For instance, it would probably take AT LEAST 3 years total to get a purple. Probably more.

So, if I started BJJ today, I'd be 70 by the time I got to red belt, and that's if I was amazing.

Red belts only go to those that have founded or helped the growth of jiujitsu. A red belt will take thirty years to obtain after achieving black belt status (and even then you have the difference between white tag "fighter" black belts and red tag "instructor" black belts) and that's only if you train using the gi for the majority of that time.