Hook me up with some newbie tips

AdamL

Green Belt
Reaction score
So I've been reading these threads for a while now, and after months of boxing I started attending my gym's submission wrestling classes. I have zero experience in wrestling of any kind, so it's all brand-spanking new to me. I've read repeatedly in here for a while now about people who "spazz" and try to power their way out of submissions. Threads like "guys who suck to roll with" and "check out this dickhead" are recurring topics. With that in mind, I thought I'd take a pre-emptive strike so I don't wind up being one of "those guys" that people hate to roll with.

If you could help to explain what "spazz" behavior is, as well as some good advice for a complete newbie, I'd be grateful. I don't mean advice as in how to lock in submissions and stuff, that's what the training should deliver. I mean more subtle things, like how to be a good partner to roll with. The gym I'm at is excellent and people would more than likely inform me if I'm being retarded on the mat, but I think it would be wise if I can educate myself on the subject and avoid being lame to begin with.

Oh yeah, and just for a little humor, there's another guy that just started the training also. Towards the end of the training yesterday we had open session. I think that if I was watching the two of us go at it that it would have looked similar to two fish flopping all over the place, because we were both clueless as hell just rolling around and trying to figure out even a basic sub. :redface: Ah well, gotta start somewhere!

I'm with you man...I've only had two classes so far and when I've rolled I've gotten into positions where I'm like "ok dude, just sub me or something so we can start over, cuz I have no clue what to do right now"

when you first start rolling, think to yourself, "I will roll at 75-80% effort." if you were a wrestler, you could change that to 50%.