Help, my takedowns suck.

USAMMAFAN

Proud member of the "Reality based community"
Reaction score
The mma school I train at mostly focuses on stand up and ground work, very little on takedowns and takedown defense.

Anyone know of any possible ways to improve this area of my game?

I have no wrestling experience and I am no longer in school anymore.

gi or no gi?

find someone that knows about them and ask them for help

minimagpro said:
gi or no gi?

find someone that knows about them and ask them for help

no gi

You can do sprawling and takedown drills alone. They have some on video on at Subfighter.com and pictures over on Lockflow.com that you can put to use. Try get the books Wrestling For Beginners and Winning Wrestling Moves. There are all kinds of wrestling DVDs out there also but if you want to keep your costs down these books are a good start.

Find a freestyle wrestling club in your area (they're open to all ages) and join. The last club I was in had HS, college and instructor level members. Good experience.

Superbeast said:
There are all kinds of wrestling DVDs out there.

such as gholars series? any other recomendations

Dan Gable, Greg Strobel and Mario Sperry also have some on the market.

Superbeast said:
You can do sprawling and takedown drills alone. They have some on video on at Subfighter.com and pictures over on Lockflow.com that you can put to use. Try get the books Wrestling For Beginners and Winning Wrestling Moves. There are all kinds of wrestling DVDs out there also but if you want to keep your costs down these books are a good start.

lol, those were the exact two books i bought a couple of years ago. :D

and recently i got the "greco roman wrestling" one by bill martell, which is better then either of them IMO.

Superbeast said:
Dan Gable, Greg Strobel and Mario Sperry also have some on the market.

how do these stack compared to gholars, gholars is applied to mma, i doubt gables is