Grappling/Rolling while sore question.

VegasFighter**

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I'm totally new to jiu jitsu, and i love it. I'm in my second week, but i am in pain constantly in ym shoulders, thighs.. I also have a slight case of carpel tunnel. but my question is on my off days, should i rest my muscles, or work them sore. I want to roll, i just want to make sure i'm not asking for a rotater cuff tear, or a muscle tear in general

This type of soreness happened to me at the beginning. This will go away in a couple of months though. I would recommend rest on off days until you're 2-3 months in. Then you can integrate weight training, cardio, or whatever you want to do on off days. It's okay if you go to jiu-jitsu sore, but you don't want to stretch yourself too hard too quickly. When you don't have jiu-jitsu; rest.

just relax and let your body heal, do some real light cardio that envolves the muscles that are not sore.. take your time and relax.. if you dont let it heal it cant rebuild.

Ya recuperation is just as important as hard training, if you want longetivity in this sport.

Try contrasting showers, fish oil or cissus for recovery of the joint areas.

Cantpostnow said:
Try contrasting showers, fish oil or cissus for recovery of the joint areas.

I never understood the logic of contrasting showers or baths. How is it supposed to help your joints and muscles?

He got banned?

Dammit I wanted to read that artical too.

I highly recomend swimming for at least one of your days off

first off make sure you stretch a lot even when you're not training ... swimming and very light weight lifting helps also