grapplers with no striking

A

alexgncw

as far as mma and street fighting goes who thinks being just a grappler with no actual striking training makes you an incomplete fighter assuming offcourse you are good grappler

i've been doing bjj for little under 2 years now, been wrestling since i was 7 years old so i can take most people down at will but i never did any kind of stand up at all (no particular reason for it just never got into it but i've done well in 3 of the 4 fights i've had so far) so is striking really a necessity to make you a good fighter?

for street fighting, as long as your smart enough to deflect oncoming strikes you should be fine 90% of the time. in mma maybe in small shows you could win the bigger the show the harder the competition which means youll be less likely to win because people will have a good sprawl and defend your takedowns

for street fighting, as long as your smart enough to deflect oncoming strikes you should be fine 90% of the time. in mma maybe in small shows you could win the bigger the show the harder the competition which means youll be less likely to win because people will have a good sprawl and defend your takedowns

For beating up random assholes, you are probably fine.

For serious MMA, it is still possible to win but you are at a big disadvantage.

For real self-defense, you're in trouble if you have no striking experience whatsoever. I always assume self-defense is multiple attackers, possibly with weapons, who are looking to beat you down not fight you. In those situations, it is critical to be able to throw strikes fast and hard so that you can hopefully get out of there ASAP. Strikes are the best option, in my opinion, for situations where you are trying to survive instead of trying to win.

Luckily you can cover at the self-defense aspect of striking fairly easily. If you trained boxing for a few months, you would probably have enough sparring and experience to strike effectively in those situations.