George St. Pierre Instructional DVD Volume 1 Review update with Volume II

aaron_mag

Purple Belt
@purple
Reaction score
Maybe this should go under equipment review. But oh well. I'll post it to both the grappling and stand up forum since he deals with both. He has two instructional DVDs. This review only covers volume I. I'll do volume II later.

I'm an armchair martial artist. Well. I actually do martial arts (ITF TKD and Sambo), but I do it as a hobby. I'm not looking to become the next GSP (too old at 34!). So that is where I'm coming from with this review. I don't know what put it in my mind to buy these. I just suddenly thought, "Lets see what GSP has to say about some of this stuff..."

Also I have two other DVD instructionals: Cesar Gracies Jiu Jitsu DVDs and Vladislav Koulikov Sambo series.

Lets get on with it.

The DVD is very short (39 minutes). And that is a definite downside. He glosses over some stuff that you'd really like him to go over more.

There are three sections to the instructional: Standup, Takedown/Takedown defense, and conditioning.

Standup: Basically deals with two things. Slipping punches and countering and spinning techniques. Very basic. If you've had any sort of standup training at all you are not going to get much out of it.

His Karate background comes through with his spinning back kick/spinning hammerfist. He also shows how to properly counter these techniques and he does a good job explaining it. But if you have a Karate type background you already know the counter. This section is not bad, but not really worth the price of admission on their own. A nice extra.

Takedown/Takedown Defense:

Personally I thought this section was excellent. He goes through four or five basic takedowns from a clinch. And this is where the beauty is. In my Sambo DVD Vlad says things like, "Okay. We could go over the basic version, but everyone already knows that. So I'll show you something more advanced..."