Fundamental BJJ learning order

Dismas

Yellow Belt
@Yellow
Reaction score
Hi I'm an ex pro boxer and a boxing coach and I've started to learn bjj... However I learn in groups and some stuff is way to advanced or difficult to make sense of. I was wondering if anyone could give me a learning order...

For example when I teach boxing to a beginner I follow the following learning order as it will help them with the next step;

1) stance
2) moving
3) straight shots (attack/blocking)
4)hooks and uppercuts (attack/blocking)
5) bodyshots

Etc etc

Anyone help?

I'll do my best:

1. basic movements( shrimping, bridging, hip heisting, etc.)
2. basic survival from bad positions
3. basic escapes from bad positions
4. passing guard, and sweeping/ subbing from guard.
5. Top control ( including good back control)
6. Submissions.

The thing with BJJ though, is that all of these will sort of be learned together, just in different percentages. In the beginning, 90% of your time will be spent surviving, but you'll still have 10% spent doing other things. Ya see what I mean?

Movement drills (shrimps, bridges, hip switches, etc.)
Fundamental Sweeps/guard pass/mount escapes (scissor sweep, elevator etc./cross choke and defense, armbar from guard/defense, kimura/defense

Look at the Pedro Suaer or Alliance curriculum. I learned from the WBJJA and they have an amazing curriculum.

Can I get my hands on those curriculums any where?

Check out Gracie Barbra fundamental curriculum. Its 4 DVDs with the first 16 weeks focusing on self defense, movement, basic submissions and sweeps. Also covers basic takedowns.

I'll do my best:

6. Submissions.

The thing with BJJ though, is that all of these will sort of be learned together, just in different percentages. In the beginning, 90% of your time will be spent surviving, but you'll still have 10% spent doing other things. Ya see what I mean?

Good post.