Frustrated with my lack of weight loss

tyrrvk

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi -
Noob here. Trying to get in shape, not to fight, but to trim down, lose weight, etc. Not really looking to get big/muscular (well, more upper body strength is OK) but want to lose fat/weight.

Started MT about a month ago, and go 3x a week for 1.5-2 hrs. Pretty high intensity. Jog a few days a week (1-2 miles) and play squash 3x a week over lunch.

5'10, 204lbs. Want to be around 180. In my mid 30's. No allusions of fighting, and not wanting to "cut 20 lbs in 20 days" or any of that crap.

Breakfasts are always oatmeal + banana and big glass of water
lunch is usually a sandwich wrap (lettuce, sliced meat etc), fruit cup and tea
drink coffee during the day 2-3 cups max, drink water as well
treat myself with one coke zero late afternoon
dinner is whatever I've cooked - on nights I have MT, I Can barely choke down any food it seems like - too wrung out. I might have a sandwich, banana, but I always have a glass of chocolate milk to help recover.
Weekends and nights off MT, I eat a bit more - not as disciplined. Love to have some beers too on the weekend. :p

Any tips? Should I just relax and keep at it and I will start to see results? I feel like my stomach is flatter, but stepping on the scale (once a week, same morning) I feel like I've plateaued. My cardio is improving for sure - doing endless combos no longer is as tough etc. I am guessing I need to do smaller portions, less beer, maybe start logging stuff to see where I may be messing up (unknowingly) and not stress so much. I just had hoped weight would shed off me - I certainly bust my ass enough at practice. Can you gain muscle from Muay Thai?

Danke

Hi -
Noob here. Trying to get in shape, not to fight, but to trim down, lose weight, etc. Not really looking to get big/muscular (well, more upper body strength is OK) but want to lose fat/weight.