Flexibility

machine85

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
I'm just starting out doing MMA and looking to increase my flexibility throughout my whole body. I am mainly looking to increase my hamstring/groin flexibility for high kicks as I'm very stiff at the moment. I used to do kickboxing years ago but through just playing football and lifting weights my flexibility has gone!

I was considering doing Fitness/Sport Yoga, but may just do my own daily routine. But I need some help with the best exercises to do. I have the following general rules to stick by:

- Perform the stretches AFTER a workout when the muscles are warm
- Hold each stretch for 30-60 seconds (dont bounce)

Have any of you had any difficulty with flexibility? Do you have any recommendations?

Look up Dynamic stretches and stretching like leg swings.They are more applicable and practical to martial artist for high kicking.They make for a great warm up then you go into static stretches.

I know people are gonna jump all over this, but I did yoga for abit and I found it took power off my kicks. I felt like all the muscles in my legs and hips were loose and I couldn't get the snap I wanted.
I do the leg swings and stretches like Stinko says and everything feels just flexible enough. Discp put up a video of a guy having his leg out and held, as he turned his hip over and back. That works great for me.

I know people are gonna jump all over this, but I did yoga for abit and I found it took power off my kicks. I felt like all the muscles in my legs and hips were loose and I couldn't get the snap I wanted.
I do the leg swings and stretches like Stinko says and everything feels just flexible enough. Discp put up a video of a guy having his leg out and held, as he turned his hip over and back. That works great for me.

I don't think you are wrong. I've heard that flexibility past a certain point interferes with muscle contractions.