First BJJ tournament

B

Bmonk**

I am entering a no-gi BJJ tournament which is happening on October 15th.

I've been doing Judo for about a year and a half, and I have some no-gi experience which I have gained by rolling with some BJJ guys at University.

I am 153 lbs, and have to fight in the 145 - 169 lb division. I am very strong for my weight, so I am not worried about the weight difference.

There are three divisions

Beginner: 1 - 12 months experience, Intermediate: 12 - 24 months experience, Advanced: 24 and up experience.

I am not sure whether to enter the Beginner or Intermediate divisions.

How difficult is the Beginner division usually?

Since this is my first tournament, and it is no-gi, which division should I enter?

Thanks

The last (and olnly) tournament I entered defined beginner as 1 year or less of experience. I'm not sure if my competition experience is normal but I was happy I entered 4 divisions. There was so much time spent waiting around I'd have been *really* bored if I only rolled in one of them.

It depends on what you want to accomplish. You won't do as well in a more advanced division, but you'll probably learn more. You may dominate an easier division, but what does that get you.

jiujitsujayhawk said:
It depends on what you want to accomplish. You won't do as well in a more advanced division, but you'll probably learn more. You may dominate an easier division, but what does that get you.

This is exactly what I was thinking also. However, I am thinking of entering the Beginner division simply to gain the experience of being in a BJJ tournament.

If I place first or second in the beginner division, I get to fight in the absolutes (with a chance of facing George St Pierre or even Patrick Cote). So I am hoping that if I do infact dominate the beginner division, and that it is too easy for me, I can test myself in the absolutes.

Any no-gi tournament advice would be appreciated.