Escaping side-mount help...

BobSacamano

White Belt
Reaction score
Besides finding myself on my back most of the class...I am noticing alot of guys, especially the blues like to work from sidemount more than full.

Because I am wide and have a big rib cage I tend to want them full. I can either upa them off or at least keep them off balance to get anything effective going. But when someone is side on me...forget it.

Normally I try and get one arm against their neck and the other down by their legs/hips. I am not skilled enough to swing a leg "in" so I upa and try to work the leg in little by little...upa...leg...upa...leg...I get nowhere.

I am still a noob and from what I hear it is a tough spot to escape but the only "escape" I have learned is the upa/try and work the leg through.

Anything else I could try? I am constantly on my back, I might as well learn to defend from there...

Jailbreak is your friend. :) It's not the only one I use but it is my favorite to regain half guard/butterfly.

I can think of a few and would love to explain them to you but would probably butcher it. Go to youtube and type in keywords sidemount escape. It should be productive.

One I will try to explain is lets say you are on your back and they are on your left side with his right hand toward your head, you want the upa up to create space and instead of coming back down snake your left out away from them and bring your body in his belly your back north south position. Now when you do this you want to shoot in and pin your head to the outside of his right thigh and gable grip around the thigh.

From there you reach for his right foot with your right hand and pull the leg toward you between his legs and begin driving/scrambling to his right as he goes over start moving your legs in a counter clockwise direction and this should give you a top side control position.