Does Jones lose the Title if he Loses by DQ?

Discussion in 'UFC Discussion' started by Verb356**, Dec 30, 2014.

  1. Verb356**

    Verb356** Banned Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am picturing a scenario where Jones is losing, and to avoid losing his belt, he intentionally eye pokes DC and the ref happens to see it. DC can't continue, so Jones looses by disqualification. Would he also happen to drop the belt in that scenario?

    Jones is pretty smart about using the rules to his advantage, and this may be a way for him to retain the belt.


    What if he sucker punches DC before the fight during the stare down, and it is ruled a NC. Does he lose the belt also?
     
  2. neomage2021

    neomage2021 Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    11,985
    Likes Received:
    4,838
    Location:
    Socorro NM
    The answer is pretty fucking simple. If he loses in anyway he loses the belt. A no contest isnt a loss so the belt wouldnt change hands.

    What if Cormier takes a dump in his hand and slaps Jones with it during the staredown??? No, neither Jones or Cormier are going to sucker punch each other
     
  3. SeattleFightFan

    SeattleFightFan Steel Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    8,904
    if the ref counts to 10 while he's outside the ring, Jones loses the fight but not the belt.
     
  4. bjjatx

    bjjatx Orange Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    791
    Now that is something i would pay good money to see
     
  5. neomage2021

    neomage2021 Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    11,985
    Likes Received:
    4,838
    Location:
    Socorro NM
    lol
     
  6. melvinj0

    melvinj0 Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20,352
    Likes Received:
    15,871
    Obvious yes, but would be an immediate rematch.
     
  7. melvinj0

    melvinj0 Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20,352
    Likes Received:
    15,871
    Why the hell would they rule that a NC? Lol that would be a DQ for sure, and a suspension.
     
  8. Arm Barbarian

    Arm Barbarian Titanium Belt Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages:
    35,631
    Likes Received:
    233,178
    Location:
    Wild West
    Disqualification = loss.

    But of course that would likely wind up in an immediate rematch.
     
  9. Degen Gambler

    Degen Gambler Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    12,145
    Likes Received:
    10,885
    No, champions are just allowed to bite their opponent's face like Hannibal Lecter and still retain their title.
     
  10. Mike Unhinged

    Mike Unhinged Orange Belt

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has anybody in the history of MMA or combat sports in general ever won a belt via DQ? Seemed like a valid question to me.
     
  11. p4p1

    p4p1 Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    562
    Could be because technically the fights hasn't started or something like that.
     
  12. neomage2021

    neomage2021 Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    11,985
    Likes Received:
    4,838
    Location:
    Socorro NM
    When Herring knocked out Nakao for kissing him at the staredown it was a no contest...and funny as hell
     
  13. Hans Gercmiov

    Hans Gercmiov Steel Belt

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    33,189
    Likes Received:
    46,998
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes, if Jones were to lose, he loses and it's a loss.
     
  14. melvinj0

    melvinj0 Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20,352
    Likes Received:
    15,871
    True but that was because technically they both were at fault. Nakao initiated it with the kiss. Plus that was in Japan.

    If Jones just popped DC it would be a DQ no doubt, considering how big of a stage it is on.
     
  15. melvinj0

    melvinj0 Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20,352
    Likes Received:
    15,871
    Nah, they would DQ him. They can't let shit like that fly or lots of fighters would start doing it.
     
  16. Double 99

    Double 99 Orange Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    1
    Luis Santana took the WBC world light middleweight title from Terry Norris in 1995 by DQ for a late punch. He lost the immediate rematch.
     
  17. VulcanNervPinch

    VulcanNervPinch Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    14,319
    Likes Received:
    6,810

    Yeah, I had the same question, because I can't recall it ever coming up before.
     
  18. Solidrock

    Solidrock Yellow Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edge of Thorns
    I don't know, but Brian Olsen retained the WEC's heavyweight title against Mike Kyle after Kyle kicked his face while he was grounded. Curiously, the WEC's heavyweight div was abolished months after.
     
  19. thechoice2

    thechoice2 Double Yellow Card Double Yellow Card

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    10,740
    Likes Received:
    8,543
    Yes, Montell Griffin won a title via Roy Jones Jr. getting DQ'd for hitting him while he was down.
     
  20. RoscoeRufus

    RoscoeRufus Lineal Pootie Tang Belt Champion

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    1,153
    Location:
    Training with Whis
    a Sherdog user who isn't familiar with the rulebook? shocker....
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.