Diet/Weight Loss Problem

Flounder

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Ok. Currently I'm 36 yo, 5'10" and 248 (about 27-32% bodyfat). My regular diet consited of an average of 3000 cal per day with 100-200 grams of fat and no exercise. Mostly fast food shit. I recently started training MMA. Starting off with 1-2 traing sessions per week and trying to run another 1-2 times a week. I would think the exercise increase alone would prompt some weight loss. In addition, I drastically cut my diet. Whole grain cerial or oatmeal with skim milk for breakfast, bannanas for between meal snacks, various chicken meals for lunches and dinners. The occasional granola bars between meals, etc. Also, some of my lunches and dinners woule be a tuna sub from Subway with nothing added (I know it is made with mayo though). Now once again, while I don't have any hard numbers, I know this diet had to cut my calorie intake by at least 30-40% and my fat intake by 60-75%. Once again, I think the diet alone would be enough to prompt a weight loss. The diet combined with my beginning MMA, I would think would cause the weight to just fall off me. After two weeks, I had virtually no weight loss. Any ideas as to what I'm doing wrong, or what I can improve on???

One thing could be that you dropped your calories so much that your body thinks it is starving and has gone into survival mode and is storing fat. Another thing could be that you are losing fat, but gaining muscle at the same time and muscle weighs more than fat. Don't use a scale to measure your progress, see how your clothes are fitting you, that will tell you more than the scale.

You might want to add a few things to your diet to get your metabolism moving a little better. Maybe try some green tea or caffiene. And be sure you get the good fats that you need. Things like fish oil and flaxseed oil. They will help you burn more fat.