Did my first tournament this weekend.

Risin' Outlaw

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi. I've been training two times a week for about 5 months or so now and decided to enlist in my first tournament. Despite only training in the gi, i decided to go both no-gi and gi, since at this point it's more about learning something new and get some experience rather then going out to smash everybody (though that would be nice too, hehe). I did the -154 pound beginners division no-gi, and the -181 pound white belt division in gi since the weigh-in for that would be the same day.

So friday I took a day off from work to cut weight and get some rest before the weekend. I had never cut weight before, but it turned out to be no problem. I was about 4/4,5 pounds over, did a short jog and sat in the sauna for about 30 min and that was it. Took the train to the weigh-ins, made weight no problem and went home. When I got home I saw that my Matlock season 1 DVD had arrived so I knew this weekend would turn out great no matter what!

Saturday I arrived a little earlier to watch some of the other guys go, and then suddenly it was time for my first match. We started out and he shot for a single leg, I sprawled and we ended up in a scramble, where he ended up in my guard. I was able to secure a triangle pretty fast but I could'nt quite lock it up real tight so I transisioned to an arm bar attempt, but that did'nt work out to great so I switched back to the triangle. Got it pretty tight and he started to gurgle and turn real red but refused to tap, I must have had him in a triangle for at least two minutes (both attempts included) and unfortunatly my legs tired out on me and he was able to escape. I later on tried a ezikiel choke on him, but was'nt able to lock it in real thight, and ended up loosing on points.