Developing Jiu Jitsu game for MMA? yes or no

IronBleek33

White Belt
Reaction score
Well first off Im new here on the boards even tho ive been reading here for a year or so. But anyways my main concer/question right now is that Ive been training BJJ and Boxing while teaching myself kicks/knees for about 8 months seperatly. My Jiu Jitsu has been getting really good as is my boxing. I developed many differnet aspects of my Jiu Jitsu practising it for weeks while rolling to develop different parts but never thinking of moves to do or not to do while getting punched I would just think of the rules in grappling. In the past few months my guard has been becoming alot better ever since i stopeed doing rubber guard (as my instructor dosent think its good in the long run) But a big reason to why its getting better is because in the GI I am trying to use alot of grips. I started training full MMA to mix everything about a month ago. Ive noticed ive made the transition good to being able to still do alot of my Jiu Jitsu succesfully while getting hit and my striking is getting good as well. But my main quesiton is that from now on since i want to fight in the cage soon enough Juring my BJJ classes should i be concentrating on systems that will be relevant and succesful in MMA. So basically not as much grips and stuff in the GI. or since that i am young (17) and somewhat new should I just develop as much BJJ systems and games as possible and then use what works in MMA. Also what are some good guard games for MMA that I could start teaching myself while rolling.

do round games

get someone and and let them put u in the gaurd try and pass if you win you go bottom the winner stays bottom try new things