DAX Moskito don't shrink, wtf ?

EE6_TBOIO_MATb

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Hey Judokas,

I read here that they don't shrink, but how can that be ? Even if u wash them in hot water ?

Second question : I'm also considering a Mizuno Kano. How bad will it shrink ?

The Gi I have now is a cheap shit, and it did shrink quite a lot in hot water, but I don't really care, cause u know, it's cheap shit. I'd be pretty disgussed, though, if my Kano ends up being too small, or my Moskito being too big !

So, how should I deal with the shrinkage for these respective Gis, before I make a sizing decision ?

Oh, last question, does it makes sense to get a 950 gr bunker like the Moskito, if I'm a judo beginner (I'm practicing a couple of grappling styles, and happened to decide to get into judo more seriously)?

If you do'nt want a gi to shrink as much, wash it in cold water and hang dry it. I only leave my gi in the dryer for like 5 minutes tops then hang dry it

txs for the advice, but as I said, I wash gis with hot water for hygiene concerns. I believe any fabric will shrink in hot water, hence my surprise about the moskito gi.

i would suggest you contact vin at kodokan gear (kodokangear.com). he's got a lot of knowledge about judo gi and should be able to point you in the right direction.

btw, not sure what you're looking for in a gi but i hear the kano is quite soft while the moskito is quite stiff, so sounds like a big difference there.

I don't think the hot water in the washing machine does much. Water needs to get very hot to kill bacteria, probably somewhere close to the boiling point and I don;t think the washing machine gets that hot. Detergent should kill all the bacteria and fungus. When I had a white gi I would bleach it every time. I never had problems with infections.

Dax mosquito has almost no shrink. about 1 cm (less than half inches).
By the way Kano and mosquito are the opposite in term of GI.

Kano is soft japanese type GI