Dangerous stand up moves

jmcmma9

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi.
first of all I don't mean striking moves tht are dangerous( all of them are).
I'm wanting opinions on what techniques that work in kickboxing, are dangerous in MMA because of the added element of graphling.
I'm sure there is no deffinent answer, but I wondering if there are any strikes that nobody would do in the octagon.

I might have missed a bunch of them in several fights, but it comes to me that the uppercut in very unpopular if nonexistent in the UFC. Does anyone know why?

I am no expert on anything but I see a lot less kicking to the head in general in MMA. You still do see it at times, and you see some brutal kockouts that way, but not as often as in K1 or other striking formats.

Probably because if it does not connect the kicker is left pretty vulnerable to takedown. Hopefully someone who knows more than me will chime in.

Hi.
I'm wanting opinions on what techniques that work in kickboxing, are dangerous in MMA because of the added element of graphling.
I'm sure there is no deffinent answer, but I wondering if there are any strikes that nobody would do in the octagon.

I might have missed a bunch of them in several fights, but it comes to me that the uppercut in very unpopular if nonexistent in the UFC. Does anyone know why?

If you watch people that use dirty boxing, the uppercut is thrown a lot

I am no expert on anything but I see a lot less kicking to the head in general in MMA. You still do see it at times, and you see some brutal kockouts that way, but not as often as in K1 or other striking formats.

Probably because if it does not connect the kicker is left pretty vulnerable to takedown. Hopefully someone who knows more than me will chime in.

That's one reason. The other is that there aren't that many good kickboxers in MMA.