Custom vs Bite & boil mouthguards

adebeesi

White Belt
Reaction score
Need some clarification that I couldn't find through the seach function.

I used to use a shockdoctor...which basically covers the top and bottom teeth and has a slit in middle for breathing. My understanding was that this protects your teeh and allows you to bite down and locks your upper and lower jaw.

Now with custom guards, which I have NO experience with....it seems to me that it just covers the top. How does this provide more protection since it doesn't cover the bottom and doesn't really lock in the lower jaw as well.

In otherwords, how does it still provide the "brain paddding function" when it just seems to me to be a mold that covers your top teeth??

I want get a custom, but want to know the difference b4 I plop down $100+.

Thanks in advance for the input.

AC

I've looked about lately for a custom mouth guard, my boil 'n bite just doesn't cut it anymore. I went with just an upper guard from StarsGuards, just awaiting Jeff's email ;).
Some places do give the option of having a custom double mouth guard [upper and lower] with the slit for breathing like you have now; but most places just offer the upper type.
It all depends on how much you are going to wear it and how much you value your teeth. I have no idea about this 'brain padding', a mouth guard does exactly that, protects your teeth.
Your best bet if you want a custom, read though all the custom mouth guard threads in the review section and do some research on Google/emails until you find a company your happy with then pursue it.

Hope this helps.

thanks marr....i thought the mouthguard help reduces shock and thus the potential risk of concussions...thats why they market it as a "brain pad" of sorts.

Anyone else have more on this? Thanks again people.

Ac