Competition Belt Rank Question

Balto

Silver Belt
@Silver
Reaction score
I have been a no gi grappler ever since I was 10 or so. I only really got serious about it in college over the last two years, but I still have a fair amount of experience. I consider myself to be good, but not excellent, and generally fight in the advanced division in no gi competition.

Recently I have decided to add the gi game to my training. I just purchased a gi and told my training partners to do the same. Some of them have gi experience, but most do not. I have been training with the gi once a week for about three months and am largely self taught when it comes to gi specific moves.

I fought in my first gi competition yesterday. Obviously I competed as a white belt. To my surprise, I blew through the competition from other schools, winning my first match in one minute with a score of more than 12-0 and winning my second match in thirty seconds with a triangle choke. I lost in the finals to one of my best training partners, so I'm not really counting that match.

I had the opportunity to fight the winner of the blue belt division in the advanced no gi and felt challenged yet fairly matched. I lost in a fairly close match by points. It was probably my most technical match.

My question is that I am not sure what rank to compete at in the gi. I have no instructor to promote me to blue belt (assuming I am ready, which isn't something I am experienced enough to determine).

However, I don't want to just stay as a white belt forever. I already outmatched the competition due to my experience, and I just feel bad competing in white belt gi and advanced no gi.

I see my options as these:

1. Just stay a white belt and fight white belt indefinitely. I don't want to do this because I don't want to be a sandbagger.