canadian insurance question

Spoken

Gold Belt
@Gold
Reaction score
Girlfriends car got wrecked. If fixing the car is more money than the cost of thr car, what will they do?

Canadian insurance salesman.

tumblr_kpfq2cezHp1qa2pqoo1_500.jpg

In the US they pay you the blue book value of the car.

I'm not a groundhog expert, but dealing with insurance this past summer when an idiot totalled my motorcycle...

they'll give you what they think the car is worth (what they would get from a salvage yard, not the wholesale value) + HST.
alternatively, you can also choose to buy it back and fix it yourself, at that point you'll get just the value of the car itself. the car will get a 'totalled' title. if you can fix it yourself, get it safetied and road-worthy, you can get it plated and back on the road (the totalled title will follow it forever though, so carfax/carproof will display that), and pocket the rest of the money.

unless you're driving around in a rare car... just take the insurance money.

*edit* - sometimes they'll low ball you on an offer.. if you can prove your car is worth more than they think (going rates in your local market [autotrader/kijiji]).. you can usually squeeze a few more $$$ out of them.

Girlfriends car got wrecked. If fixing the car is more money than the cost of thr car, what will they do?

They write off the car and write you a cheque for the book/market value of the car. You can negotiate this amount btw if they lowball you, you are entitled for the replacement amount that people are currently selling the same model/year/mileage car for locally.

After the accident, an insurance claims adjuster will inspect your vehicle and determine whether it can be repaired or whether it is labelled a "total loss". A vehicle is considered to be a total loss (or a write-off) when the cost of repairs is greater than the current value of the vehicle. It may also be considered a total loss if the necessary repairs can’t be carried out safely or economically.