Can you 'Judo' out of the Clinch?

Guards

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
I'm posting this in Standup, and Grappling. I want to see the different perspectives based on experience. Stand-up guys may say no, but Judo guys in grappling may see it differently.

In MMA(I'm not sure what the rules for MT-style fighting are), what are your thoughts about well-applied Judo as a Thai Clinch defense?

I have some experience in Judo, and some experience in MT. I've done the clinch, and I've been clinched. Being clinched, standing and trading against someone who's a bit better in the clinch sucks.

We know that most wrestlers get troubled by the clinch because their takedowns are primarily based on dropping posture. :redface: Judo is different, and a majority of their throws and be applied while standing upright.

In an MMA fight, what pros and cons do you see? Would someone like Karo perhaps survive better than others?

Seems like if your pretty good at no gi judo, you should be able to toss the guy. Might get punched in the face tho? All depends.

Anderson silva had trouble getting Hendo in the clinch. So wrestling isn't all that bad.

From my personal experience, I would say it could work. I done judo and when I sparred takedowns in nogi BJJ, there was this one kid who would always try to get the thai clinch on me and push me. it was weird because thats all he was doing. I would just break the grip and toss him. So my judo beat his thai clinch. But that dude sucked so I wouldn't make much of it.

Depends on the type of wrestling we're talking about...

Greco-Roman is what I'd consider "no-gi Judo"; very upright, can't attack the legs, and is all based on trips, throws, and upper-body slams...and the Team Quest guys use it phenomenally...

BJ Penn and Randy Couture call it the "dirty boxing clinch" when applied to MMA...