[Boxing] Stance question

Combat Squirrel

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
While watching May-Pac, I remembered something I've been wondering about for a while: Pro boxers often use a very wide stande with their back foot almost 90

Im no expert but im going to guess to reach your target in a real fight youre going to end up leaning anyway. So you teach the hip rotation, drilling into the ground and finding your range without needing to lean first, and then when you add the lean its just that much longer.

I dont think you ever see trainers training their fighter to lean in with a cross like that, unless its to do a quick touch and quickly jump out of range after.

My best guess.

Last edited:
It's just the difference between training and real life application. You drill perfect movement with the knowledge that applications is going to end up looking different. Ideally, you'd look the same both drilling and fighting/sparring but with an active opponent and with the adrenaline pumping maintaining perfect form isn't always realistic.

Still, great fighters tend to maintain better overall form even if it's not perfect.

I don't agree that it's just what happens in a fight. It isn't like every boxer throws their rear hand or stands that way. The reason for Mayweather to stand like that is just because of his style of defense. Pacquiao lunges with his left because he's always been fast enough that people struggle to control distance against him.

I can kind of see it with Floyd. He can reach with his lead hand just fine and usually throws the cross standing or moving backward when his opponent comes in, meaning he doesn't have to reach far.

But for Manny, who had to close the distance on a taller fighter with a big reach advantage, wouldn't it be better to stand and punch the second way, which makes it easier to stay close and follow up after a first punch lands. Mike Tyson seemed to do it that way most of the time:

[YT]R2RxpsS639I[/YT]