Body shots for a long outside striker

Ninja Realist

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
I'm pretty tall and lanky for my weight so I like to throw straight punches.

I still put hooks at the end of my combos if I'm able too, but no matter how much I train it I always feel like i can get off a cross to the body quicker and cleaner than a left hook. But doesn't a hook connect with the liver/floating rib, harder and cleaner than a cross? Should I just train the body hook more or should I stick with what seems to fit my style better?

Set up your left hook using those jabs and straight rights to the body (with a left hook to the head), then when you've got them ready for it, you can throw the right straight, angle out to your left and dig in that left hook.

Of course, I'm not very good at doing this and am still working on getting the angle, but in theory...

You're lucky, i've watched alot of boxing matches, where a lanky ass motherfucker lands some deadly liver shots with a long outside left hook. It seems very very effective against a shorter opponent who likes to lean or keeps his guard up too high.

ok so, this fight came to my mind right when i read the title. Watch it, Study it, Wince at the devastating liver blows, Learn it, and then go out and try it for yourself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBxXodXYEBI
The Thin Explosive Man vs. Royal Kobayashi

alright, so at about 2:28, Arguello has Royal up on the ropes, and as Shotokan mentioned correctly, he set up that left hook to the liver with a combo. The uppercut + straight got Kobayashis guard up high, and Arguello snuck in that left to the liver. You can clearly see that shit hurt Royal, as you see him in pain, backing up with his hands down. So once Kobayashi gets up from the count, Arguello pounces on him. POW! POW! POW! POW! ONE TWO! than that fuckin last left hook to the liver finishes the fight.