BJJ Etiquette

beev

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi Guys - yes Im new and yes I have a BJJ question that I'd like you to help me out with please, as I don't know the answer. Fear not, the troll remains under the bridge.

I recently started training BJJ and its awesome, but the class I'm at is only once a week. I want to train more, but my instructor said if I went to train at another class as well as his, I would be disrespectful to my original class and the group.

However I really want to train as much as possible. One class a week isn't enough, and my instructor won't train me privately (which is fair enough).

What are the rules around BJJ etiquette?

i don't buy into any of that family or loyalty bullshit. just train.

if someone makes you choose "it's me or them", then get out of there.

cheers lads - thanks for the replies and votes of confidence.

train where you want. youre paying for it so get what youre looking for out of it.

I'm big when it comes to loyalty but it goes both ways. The academy's offerings should be aligned with your goals. After all, you ARE a paying customer and I'm sure your Coach doesn't really have "Special" BJJ magic where you'd have to sign a Non-disclosure agreement.

As other's have said, I'd look for other places to train if their offerings don't meet with your satisfaction.

Hi Guys - yes Im new and yes I have a BJJ question that I'd like you to help me out with please, as I don't know the answer. Fear not, the troll remains under the bridge.

I recently started training BJJ and its awesome, but the class I'm at is only once a week. I want to train more, but my instructor said if I went to train at another class as well as his, I would be disrespectful to my original class and the group.

However I really want to train as much as possible. One class a week isn't enough, and my instructor won't train me privately (which is fair enough).