BJJ Book Recommendations

Callow

White Belt
Reaction score
I have been training in Ju-Jitsu for around 8 months now, slowly learning new aspects of the game day by day. I just wondered if there are any decent books around that I can learn more about BJJ, regarding conditioning, techniques, diet, training and so on.

Thanks

saulo's book "Jiu JItsu University"

gAlvao's book "12 months to better BJJ"

Penn's "Closed Guard"

Thanks, I will take a look into these books. Hopefully I can learn and improve my skills from reading these books.

i agree with the suggestions above. i have saulo's book and galvao's book. i have been able to add stuff from both books to my go to game.

i've peeked at bj penn's book. ive taken a few things from it and tried it out.

often times the new shit we see in books doesn't work immediately. what ive found helpful for me is to try some new shit for a couple of weeks. don't force it but if you see an opportunity, go for it. if it doesnt work, either put it on the shelf for later or drill it ad nauseum and practice it on lesser skilled dudes. if you are one of the lesser skilled dudes, still work on it with guys of equal skill level. if it works on lesser or same skilled dudes, look at what, how and when it worked and start to break it down from the set up to the completion. you may find that something in the book isnt for you and you come up with set ups that work for you. no matter what, your game will evolve.

all that to say, i agree with what was said above.

id also throw in the essential guard

saulo's book "Jiu JItsu University"

gAlvao's book "12 months to better BJJ"

Penn's "Closed Guard"

Thanks a lot for including two of my books (Saulo's and Galvao's), Wolfman!!! Its awesome to see all of our work appreciated!!

Kevin Howell

Yeah, I also recommend Jiu-Jitsu University and Galvao's Drill to Win. JJU is like my bible.

JJU is amazing

I've heard great things about Galvao's book

Pretty much anything from victory belt is good.