BJJ Blues

ANTHRAX

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hey guys!

So I've been training bjj for a few months and I've noticed that when we do our warmups I have a little trouble with the forward roll!

I start to get a bit dizzy and sometiems I lose my balance, but the funny thing is when I do the backward rolls it's fine?!

Anyone have any idea if it's normal or if it's a bad thing?

Other than that everything's great I actually live playing spiderguard and I'm also gaining a interest in leg locks.

I hope you guys who train in bjj are having a blast like I am!

Any problems you have in executing the basic forward roll will be corrected by only two things: time, and practice. Keep doing it. If something is wrong, figure out what that is. Just keep doing it. Don't stop.

As an aside, I have never attempted to play spider guard in my entire life and probably never will, but I do enjoy leg locking.

It's probably cancer, I'm sorry.

Scratch that. Certainly cancer!

It's probably cancer, I'm sorry.

Scratch that. Certainly cancer!
no, no ... It's Lupus.

to OP: a few months is probably a little early to dive into spider guard. You want to make sure you have your fundamentals down to a science before playing with open guards. and beware - it may not seem like now, but grip heavy guards will maul for fingers over time. I'd focus on other guards unless you feel like spider guard is your bjj life calling.

Side note: super hardcore name bro

Last edited:
You'll get used to it. You are probably doing a forward roll much faster than the backwards roll, thus getting you dizzy. Try multiple consecutive back rolls super fast and report back.

Probably AIDS though

I'm the opposite. Can do forward rolls all the way back and down the mat. do 2-3 backwards rolls and the room is spinning. After 8 years still the same. I backwards roll down the mat and do my last one and then sit there for 10 seconds to regain my bearings.

fyi i still get dizzy from forward rolls after 5 years