Bit of Striking Help!

SandManKB

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey everyone, reletively new here been lurking for a bit. First I would like to say despite what Ive heard about Sherdog it seems like a pretty decent place, mind you every Forum has its clowns. I came here because I figured you guys could help me out with something thats been nagging me since I started training. My background, I started Boxing when I was about thirteen years of age, Muay Thai 14 and I got into Jiu Jitsu and Wrestling when I was 16, Im currently 17 right now. I guess a bit about my physique, im 6'8", 180 pounds (Skinny I know, this leads up to another question).

My problem? Brawling(If you could call it that), I can take a punch I dont get rocked much but for some damn reason I cant handle the type of fighter that just comes at you swinging for the fences. Im perfectly fine fighting a skilled Standup fighter who shows good technique and skill but one individual at the gym in particular gives me difficulty. His main strategy is to just come forward throwing wild hooks and punches ALA Wanderelei (Sorry if i spelt it wrong mates). I can usually get a few push kicks in to keep him at bay but sooner or later he just gets passed my kicks and I find myself in the corner or on the ropes in a defensive mode while he wails at my body and face. Ive tried stepping to the side like my instructor said and it works sligthly but as everyone knows moving forwards is alot easier than moving backwardsish. Now I have no problems throwing straights while he throws the looping punches but when he gets on the inside and Im forced to stay in the pocket is where I cannot cope. So ive come to you for assistance, what do you suggest?