Being held back

minimagpro

Purple Belt
@purple
Reaction score
Ok, I have been doing jujistu for about 10 months now. I am very athletic, flexible, and I am a very good learner. In class I am always tapping the 2 stripe and 4 stripe guys and occasionaly a blue belt.

The other day I asked my instructor if we could work on some half guard stuff because that is the part of my game that I am really lacking in. I only know 1 basic pass and it doesnt work most of the time. My instructor told me that I am not "advanced" enough to worry about half guard and the only thing that I need to worry about when i have someone in the half gaurd is getting them back into my full guard.

I feel like I am being held back because I feel that I have proven myself through hard work and dedication that I shouldnt be titled as "not advanced for half guard"

In what stage did everyone here start going over half guard stuff?

am i getting screwed?

he may think your guard needs work, so he wants you to work on that.
we went over half guard from day one...

My school isn't big enough to have many different types of students, our instructor is a purple going on brown & we only have four blue belts & probably around 3 potential blues. It is mostly whites so our teaching goes from what would be considered "advanced" to "basic". I didn't really think there was some stuff you can't learn at white.

I've been training for about 18 months now, the club had a core of about 6-7 guys that have been training about the same amount of time so the lessons are often aimed at our level. I would say over the last 6 months or so we have been shown more techniques from half guard, mainly on the bottom. Personally I've still been told to try and concentrate on going back to full guard, combining it with trying to take their back. By distracting them by trying to take their back you make it easier to pop the the knee back through for full guard.