Beginner Moves from guard

Easto

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
I find when I am in guard I tend to lock my legs for dear life and hold on as long as I can. I am a 2 month veteran :D in BJJ and over the last 2 weeks I have switched from No-Gi to Gi.

I have learned:
Scissor Sweep
Arm Bar from guard
Triangle
Guillotine
... and I think that's it (from guard).

This is a very very basic question. What should I be doing when I am on my back with someone in guard? I just feel that as soon as I unlock my feet my guard gets passed then I am fighting out of side control, back, or mount.

What did you guys have success with when you were first starting out?

start to use your hips more. do you know the kimura? how about the kimura sweep? these usually go hand in hand with the basic guillotine

i'm in the same boat...going from nogi to gi. here's my advice. to attack, you have to open your guard. but when you do, don't relax your legs and knees or else they will pass you easy. I see this a lot with beginners. Always make sure you keep the "squeeze" on your opponent. Also don't get in the habit of laying flat on your back. learn to control the sleeves and collar while using the "butterfly" guard, keep them off balance and attack or sweep.

Always work on breaking down your opponents posture.

If in the gi, cross grab his lapel and pull him down to you. If no gi grab the back of his neck/head and pull him into you.

As stated above, hip movement is key. Drill shrimping.

for a longass time i kept my guard closed too. mostly i went for triangles and armbars with an occasional kimura. i actually think this approach is good to some extent. i've developed quite a nasty triangle and while my armbars are nowhere near perfect, they're at least threatening. i think it's good to have a solid full guard base before you start opening up.