• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

basic wrestling tips??

sourdiesel209

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
I just started BJJ one month ago so im still a whitebelt noob... altho I can somewhat hold my own rolling against ppl my on my own level, we also have wrestling only sparring every class, where Im totally clueless since I have never wrestled before.. the only thing I can do is shoot doubles and sprawl my ass off (from watching too much ufc of course lol).. or try judo throws that I found on youtube..

So any tips to setup my takedowns from the clinch?? I find myself stuck here just randomly getting grips or trying to get double underhooks... also, how do you finish a single leg takedown? tripping the leg? tried rotating in circles but the dude just kept jumping on his remaining leg...

and last, what the hell is "the switch"...and should I look into arm drags as well??

If you have any questions you can PM me

When you get a single leg up in the air, you usually want it in front of your body. You want to have the leg very tight, elbow deep to be exact. Meaning your elbow is under their heel. This way they can't kick their leg out. Here is where you want it:

4d1171800120a.preview-300.jpg

A good way to finish from their is to grab the back of their head, and rotate them backwards. Once they fall to their knees or on a hip, look to attack their other leg with your free hand to secure the position. Another way would be to use your free hand and hook underneath right where his knee bends and bring your arm up. You do this to get his leg higher. This will cause him to hop on one foot. When his leg is in the air, you can sweep it out.

For ties, look to get inside. When you are inside, you dictate the offense (usually). Here are some videos about ties: