Balancing Muay Thai + BJJ

Kimura123

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi. I'm nearly 15 and I currently do martial arts Monday - Thursday. My schedule is as follows:

Monday: BJJ Gi 6:30 - 8:30

Tuesday: No-Gi 5:00 - 8:00

Wednesday: Judo 5:30 - 6:30, BJJ Gi 6:30 - 8:00

Thursday: BJJ Gi 5:00 - 6:00, Muay Thai 6:30 - 7:30, Wrestling 7:30 - 8:00 (I join in halfway through)

Anyway, I was wondering if it would be better if I replaced Monday's session with 2 hours of Muay Thai, that way I'd be doin 3 hours Muay Thai 8 hours BJJ, or stick with how it is, 1 hour Muay Thai, 10 hours BJJ. Also I wanna do MMA when I'm older.

I am no expert, in fact in a complete newb!

However, surely at your age, just do what you enjoy and what will keep you training.

Talk to your coaches and see what they think. At your age, I would think do whatever you enjoy and motivates you. I don't see either choice being wrong. Beyond that if you have a goal to say be a great at grappling then you should do more BJJ. If you want to to be a thai boxes than do more of that. If you want a career in mma then for sure talk to your coach about what type of emphasis you should have now. Good luck!

Talk to your coaches and see what they think. At your age, I would think do whatever you enjoy and motivates you. I don't see either choice being wrong. Beyond that if you have a goal to say be a great at grappling then you should do more BJJ. If you want to to be a thai boxes than do more of that. If you want a career in mma then for sure talk to your coach about what type of emphasis you should have now. Good luck!

Well, when I fight in MMA, I want my primary style to be BJJ, so maybe I should focus most of my time on it?