As a smaller guy

mcgoatp4p#1

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
Around 140 lbs, it always feels weird when I roll with a total beginner who has 60/70 lbs on me and I can basically smash him. I give myself some leeway to not go too easy on him cuz there is a size discrepancy, but he's a beginner so Im not gonna go all out either. I always try to be conscious about finding a balance.

I also have no idea what that feels like on the other end, cuz I've always been the smallest guy in the room. I think the only way I could put myself in those shoes is if I rolled with an actual dwarf with serious jiu jitsu skills and he crushed me. I don't think that's a thing though.

I also have no idea what that feels like on the other end, cuz I've always been the smallest guy in the room. I think the only way I could put myself in those shoes is if I rolled with an actual dwarf with serious jiu jitsu skills and he crushed me. I don't think that's a thing though.

Go to AOJ. Find one of their small, full time juvenile competitors. Ask him to roll. Questions answered.

Around 140 lbs, it always feels weird when I roll with a total beginner who has 60/70 lbs on me and I can basically smash him. I give myself some leeway to not go too easy on him cuz there is a size discrepancy, but he's a beginner so Im not gonna go all out either. I always try to be conscious about finding a balance.

i can identify with this. im always the smallest guy in the adult classes but i have been training long enough to ragdoll most newbies no matter how large. on the other hand ive almost never been tapped or smashed by somebody smaller than me so its hard to sympathize with these big lunks.

when i (145lbs) roll with a 200lb male and smash him, its like if i were to get smashed by a 90-pounder. i cant imagine how it must feel