Anyone using a custom fitted Mouth Guard?

PistolPeteMMA

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I'm thinking of buying a custom fitted mouth guard for my BJJ and MMA training. These boil and bite ones just don't stay in my mouth and I have to fit them 10 times to get one kinda close. I've been debating about buying one of these for a few months now and think it's time to pull the trigger. If you use one of these how do they work? Which brand did you go with?

I'm debating between Shock Doctor and the Fight Dentist but not sure which one to go with. I like the idea of getting a custom design with the Fight Dentist but not sure it's worth another $50. I trust the Shock Doctor brand though because they've been around for a long time and def. know what they are doing.

Any tips?

Thanks,
Pete

I have a Gladiator guard PRO (customguards.com) It is a great custom guard for $50 and the half price after that is great. You have to pull the guard out with your finger it doesn't fall out. If you choose this though i'd go with the PRO since I heard the Elite guard is really thick and makes your lip buldge out.

Have you tried Opro boil and bite guards? I have the Gold Premium (gold and black) and it is really good. Is is nice a thin and doesn't come loose unless I want it too. I use it for BJJ but I think it would be ok for MMA, they also have a platinum model that is designed for heavy impact.

I have tried a few guards that are suppost to be tight fitting, the RBK custom guard (set the gel ur self and bite), they fit good but are really bulky. Shock doctors always pop out on me and require more than one fitting. So I tried the Opro and IMO it is the best hands down, I ordered it on Ebay for $27cad shipped. If you havent tried one of them yet I would give them a try.

I think I'm going to buy one of the Gladiator guards because for $50 I don't think I can go wrong. What type of turn around time did it take to get your Gladiator Mouth Guard?