anyone have a tough time with omoplata?

JH34PG

White Belt
Reaction score
as i am fairly new to bjj with gi...im struggling with the omoplata. i make the triangle around the arm...sit up...

but just have a hard time completing it...any suggestions?

would need to see you do it to figure out exactly what your doing wrong. it kinda sounds like the problem is in the way your finishing it. assuming you've gotten everything else right the finish should be more like thrusting your hips forwards rather than reaching forwards for something.

obviously like all techniques theres lots of ways to finish it. but from the small amount of info you've given this would be my guess

as i am fairly new to bjj with gi...im struggling with the omoplata. i make the triangle around the arm...sit up...

but just have a hard time completing it...any suggestions?

Youtube it...
TBH this is a move that i can do pretty easily if i feel the opp (idk y) Just make sure when you move to bring you leg under his head watch he doesnt roll - it also has to be a quick and swift move - but when youve cleared his head and you have the arm triangled jus posture up and i use my arm to bring the arm up tho you can use just the leg and as you forcing ur opponents shoulder into the ground lift up.

Its hard to described as i with this move just go thru the motions - look at submissions 101 on youtube thats the best place imo

Make sure you get your hips high on his shoulder. Fail to do this and nothing else matters.

Youtube it...
TBH this is a move that i can do pretty easily if i feel the opp (idk y) Just make sure when you move to bring you leg under his head watch he doesnt roll - it also has to be a quick and swift move - but when youve cleared his head and you have the arm triangled jus posture up and i use my arm to bring the arm up tho you can use just the leg and as you forcing ur opponents shoulder into the ground lift up.