Anybody caught anything (skin diseases, infections ect) that made them quit M.A

MMouse

Now you enter...the shredder
Banned
Reaction score
Wasn't sure where to posts this, but I thought I asks since this is my first time catching something like molluscum, and it's been frustrating me, and even making me depress at times to the point it crosses my mind that I should quit martial arts and just get into general health and fitness.

I love martial arts and definately something that's exciting to do cause it can lead to many different paths in life but if its at the costs of catching something then is it really worth it? I mean what else can I expect? herpes? staph?

Anyone here or know anyone experienced a similar situation.

I wouldn't worry about getting herpes too much unless you are copulating with your sparring partners, lol.

Always use protection... it'll keep the herp away.

seriously though, just push your gym to wash the mats and stuff more often with lysol or bleach.

Bring sanitary alcohol with you and use after all clinch-excercises and padwork, and tell your gym to reinforce hygienic standards.

I always wipe my hands and feet with alcohol when I get home from muay thai. I'm not sure if that will do anything but I figure its a good idea.

wtf get out of that dirty ass gym. wtf?!!?!?

do they clean the mats? do they have a "WASH UR ASS RULE" i mean... who the fuck comes to jj training smelling like ass and using the same work out clothes for a week?

i seen my instructor kick people out of classes cause they stunk so bad with bad hygiene. jj is a sport with alot of contact... why would you come in smelling like ass?

anyways... after practice go home right away. get yourself a big bottle of dial antibacterial hand soap and scrub yourself down with that before you use your regular soap.

this is why i dont like training jj... too much man love, and you can catch some skin infection.

I got ring worm once so I was out for a month.