Any advice for my first BJJ competition?

vanguard_anon

Clever user title
Reaction score
I'm about to enter my first BJJ competition. I've been rolling for 7 months now so I'm not thing special but I am hoping to do well. They have a "master" category for guys over 30 so I'm hoping 30+ year old white belts will suck. :) Any advice you can think of you be great but I'll ask some questions to get it started.

1) I have to cut about 1.5 lbs. I plan on eating something for dinner that will pass (probably cereal), skipping breakfast, and making weight. What do you think?

2) Takedowns: Fight_song cranked my neck last night and I'm a little concerned about single legs, my normal go-to takedown. Do you have a favorite that doesn't involve controlling somebody with your head?

3) Subs: I've never done a BJJ competition bt I assume that guys wait a little longer before tapping to a choke and crank joint locks a little harder. Does this sound right?

4) Any general advice you want to give me?

Thanks in advance

First advice: be aggresive. That's how they will be. It's very different from rolling in the class.
To get to your questions:
1) It depends on your metabolism.
2) Try ouchi gari. http://judoinfo.com/images/animations/blue/ouchigari.htm Murilo used a lot a small variation of this in Bushido.
3) Some wait, some don't, cause there are competitors who just go for cranking your limb. Tap as soon as you can.
4) Again: be aggresive. And second: have fun. Don't take it to serious.
If those are your kids, congratulations on having two beautiful children. They look like their mother don't they? :)

vanguard_anon said:
I'm about to enter my first BJJ competition. I've been rolling for 7 months now so I'm not thing special but I am hoping to do well. They have a "master" category for guys over 30 so I'm hoping 30+ year old white belts will suck. :) Any advice you can think of you be great but I'll ask some questions to get it started.