Advice Please

triple k

White Belt
Reaction score
Like I said in a previous post im only new to bjj and Im after getting right into it.I generally train bjj 2 nights a week and then 2 nights in the gym tryin to get fit as im adverage hight (just under 6 foot) and weight(about 12 stone) and fairly small built.Any advice as to what work i could do in the gym that would help my bjj?Any ideas would be great guys.
Cheers

triple k said:
Like I said in a previous post im only new to bjj and Im after getting right into it.I generally train bjj 2 nights a week and then 2 nights in the gym tryin to get fit as im adverage hight (just under 6 foot) and weight(about 12 stone) and fairly small built.Any advice as to what work i could do in the gym that would help my bjj?Any ideas would be great guys.
Cheers
When I train on my own in the gym, I work on cardio cardio cardio. I use use elipiticals since they are nicer on my joints than just running but a better workout and not nearly as boring as riding a exercise bike. After doing that for 30-some minutes, the machine says I went 2.5-3.5 miles and burned 400-600 calories. I pout since I'm slow but not for long!

Then I might go down to the open mats and drill drill drill! I sometimes used to do HIIT like burpees (see the Conditioning forum) before I hurt my toes to the point I can't put any weight on them. Now I just do 2 minutes drilling/2 minute rest intervals for an hour or more total like I did before. Here are the drills I do:
  • Shrimping
  • Reverse Shrimping
  • Hip lifts
  • ball rolling left (starting from sitiing upright in butterfly hands on knees, roll on arm, on back just below neck, onto other arm, back upright)
  • ball rolling right
  • hip lift ball rolling left (do a hip lift when on back then finish roll, very hard for me!)
  • hip lift ball rolling right
  • Granby rolls left (if space is limited, I start from knees instead of a tripod.)
  • Granby rolls right