A question about balls....

TheMMAchef

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
Now that I have your attention.

I am 6'3 250-260 and I am an amateur Heavyweight MT Practitioner....

I do not mean to start a debate, or a discussion that will flame myself and everyone in it. I have a serious question:

What is the benefit over being on the balls of your feet in MT over having a slightly flat footed stance?

I ask because I hear constantly "Stay on the balls of your feet for movement and quickness" then I ll hear someone else say "Don't be on the balls of your feet non stop because it will zap energy and can make you off balance" Granted I realize I am not supposed to stand like a ballerina, but with the heels slightly raised off the floor.

I have watched HUNDREDS of Thai fights, and most of them seem to have their weight on their back leg, and there lead foot planted loosely with the heel slightly elevated.

Then I take it to guys in UFC Like Dos Santos, Velasquez, Overeem, etc. All heavyweights who are pretty flat footed and decent strikers (I am not giving them a to of credit just an example of flat footed guys that can crack).

I have only been doing it a year, and while I KNOW the benefits of being on the balls of your feet, I just don't seem to be reaping much benefit out of it. Can someone tell me in a constructive manner the advantages to it other than it would make you slightly more agile and explosive?

Thanks for the help!!!

you already answered your own question.

it is optimal in traditional muay thai in Thailand. thais don't get their energy zapped because they run miles and miles every morning before training and they pace themselves.

I'm quite sure mma fighters go flat footed to avoid take downs, and also have their hands lower for this reason