What is a harder loss to deal with, 3 round wrestle misery or first round KO?

eon001

Red Belt
@red
Reaction score
In light of Blaydes wrestle domination over Willis, it got me thinking, what is harder loss to deal with?

A soul taking Cain style wrestling grind where you feel completely controlled, or a Conor/Aldo style first round ko?

Does claiming it was a flash ko make it easier to deal with despite how quickly you were taken out?
Does going the distance feel better despite feeling completely helpless and dominated throughout?

First round KOs you can write of to luck. Getting wrestled for a full round means your skill sucks.

It goes without saying that I’m not a doctor or fighter

My fear would be that once that instant KO switch is flipped that it would be easier to happen again and I’d be a little fearful of getting hit again

Where as wrestling you can always keep working

I guess KO can be a fluke so i't would be easier to deal with in your head.

I might be wrong here but I think it was Luke Thomas who mentioned that he has talked to numerous fighters and their number 1 concern is being wrestlefucked. Weight is an amazing equalizer if you want to keep it on the feet or at least be competitive.

And since wrestlers are the #1 leaders in weight cutting in MMA, NA has an extremely unhealthy weight cutting problem with strikers dying to make it into a lower weight class so they don't get completely wrestlefucked. Wrestlers in turn, save for maybe Colby, cut as much as they can to give themselves an advantage. Skill + Weight Advantage = Domination

That said near the end of someone's combat sports career they move up since their body is shot and it's the only way to maintain a career. They then eventually get wrestlefucked and exit stage left... Unless you can manipulate your fights to stay away from wrestlers. Good luck with that. Lets see how that works out for Pettis. It sure as hell didn't work out for my girl.