3 diffrent jab footwork ways?

stinkoman

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
I did a search and cant find what im looking for.

Im new to boxing and ive been shown 3 diffrent ways on how I should jab properly.Each are diffrent but Im comfortable doing them as properly as I can with my skill level,but Im wondering should I learn how to do 1 or will trying to learn all 3 mess me? Or is any of these bad technique>

1. Basic step and jab at the same time.What most have instructed me to do.

2.In proper stance. Lead legs pivots kinda like a hook, but more forward and weight shifting wtih hips. Even ok to push off wtih the right.I think this was also off Duane Ludwigs sight,explaining how you dont need to step but can shift your own body movement forward.

3.This one is kinda hard to explain.This is from a ringisde video boxing basics 1. The boxer is like steping/rasing his right foot to the balls of his feet with out leaving the groud with his right foot to whip his left shoulder forward and dose not step with his lead.

Are all 3 of these okay to learn?

Jab footwork is complicated. The first way is the best way to throw a heavy, hard jab. Sometimes you jab while moving back, or as a counter, however, in which case you don't step into it, and there is more arm and should twist to give it force. That's more like the second type. The third type you mention, I don't understand.

It's okay to practice all three, but I think the first type of footwork, the basic, is the most important type of jab if you want to use it as a primary weapon (as opposed to using it for defense or to set up other punches).

I really don't like to pivot my front foot too much, since it turns me away from my opponent. I would go with the first one, but you should also learn how to jab going backwards and sideways.

Doesn't hurt to know different ways, and I wouldn't say there's a "correct" way. Go with whatever your coach advises, otherwise he may not be able to coach you on it.