Making games these days its getting more and more expensive due to graphical advancement

Panmisiek

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Back in the day, 17-20 years ago you had squarish characters, textures with 256 colours. Design was fast, physics were simple and game stood at the same price they are standing now $40-60

c7185590cf634773b4d56490e26aec1e.jpg

Today, you got almost realistic graphics and shitload of work put to make a character, object, yet a single map

Wolfenstein-The-New-Order-5-1280x543.jpg

People complain they want decent content, more than 10 hours of play and so on. Ok but are you willing to fork out $100 for a single game?

Major games sold less units back in the days and the profits on AAA games these days is bigger than that on blockbuster films.

I can't speak for the entire game design process, BUT. I've been a modeler for almost two decades and use 3d visualization as part of my daily profession. This idea that "games cost so much more to make and require so much more resources / time" is absolute, fucking, bullshit. I don't buy it for a second. It's SOOOOO much easier to go from concept, to model, to engine now than it was in the 90's. The learning curve and pipelines are exponentially more friendly. The tools now are amazing. And as stated above, the market is much more far reaching and hits many more demographics than even a decade ago. It's publishers price gouging and stripping content for DLC.....and it's fucking gross.