I want to compete, how do I know when I'm ready?

45ACP

I'll Be Back Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
The obvious answer is, "ask your coach" but aside from that? What are some things I need to know about competing in KB if I've never done it before? Any specific techniques I need to have mastered completely?

About me:
- Spent most of my childhood/early teens training TKD on and off with my father, who is/was a 2nd degree BB competitor/instructor from a legit school (well, legit as far as TKD goes)
- Started training what I'd describe as AKB (along with BJJ and wrestling) about 8 years ago
- Trained for about 3 years at a gym with a very good MT program
- Competed in sub grappling once and was surprised by the level of intensity (which I know I'd have to be prepared for in a KB match)
- Current gym has great BJJ coaches but is lacking in the striking department (I can consistently get the better of my coach in stand up sparring - but partly due to the fact I have a massive reach advantage)
- 6'0" 170 lbs in pretty good shape with very long limbs (when I competed in BJJ I cut to 160lbs)
- lead hook, straight right and rear round kick are my best weapons (plus a good enough spinning back kick to land it consistently in sparring)
- I'm 39 years old:eek:

Also, I'm curious about rule sets. I know elbows and knees to the head are usually illegal at the amateur level, but what about knees to the body, clinching/sweeps, spinning shit, etc?

I haven't decided yet that this is something I'm definitely going to try, I'd just like to get as much info as I can so thanks for any replies.

Do it dude, my amateur record is shit because I went too soon, I started as a personal challenge and to become acclimatized to fight, Im saving fights now and preparing them more, I encourage you to try it.

1) Go to a gym with several active, winning amateur/pro fighters.

2) Spar with several of the fighters, as is normal.