Golf advice. Lessons or no?

closequarters

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
About 15 years ago, I started playing about 30 rounds of golf a year. I did this for about 5 years. I was playing bogey golf on my best day and like 130 on the bad days. I had two very bad habits. I used a baseball bat grip (not even a 10 finger grip but an actual baseball bat grip with my thumbs wrapped around the club). I also stood very far away from the ball to where I would extend my arms 45 degrees at the ball.

My question is, now after a 10 year break, should I take lessons and try to correct my grip and stance before stepping back on the course? Or should I just go back to playing the way I was and try to correct myself as I go? I was thinking a 10 year break might be a good time to start over with a blank slate.

About 15 years ago, I started playing about 30 rounds of golf a year. I did this for about 5 years. I was playing bogey golf on my best day and like 130 on the bad days. I had two very bad habits. I used a baseball bat grip (not even a 10 finger grip but an actual baseball bat grip with my thumbs wrapped around the club). I also stood very far away from the ball to where I would extend my arms 45 degrees at the ball.

My question is, now after a 10 year break, should I take lessons and try to correct my grip and stance before stepping back on the course? Or should I just go back to playing the way I was and try to correct myself as I go? I was thinking a 10 year break might be a good time to start over with a blank slate.

How serious do you want to be? If I were going to play again it would be strictly for shits and giggles and to get drunk and drive the golf cart around and try to smash golf balls.

I wouldn’t care about my score, it would just be about drinking and hanging out with my friends so I’d just hit the driving range for 30 minutes or so before my T time.