Does anyone of you do Calisthenics? What's your opinion?

The Accuser

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
I've been grappling for several years now and consider myself a rather mediocre blue belt. I enjoy BJJ but my very limited athleticism holds me back (I'm almost 40, not much strength nor cardio or flexibility). Actually BJJ has helped me less than I've hoped to get in shape, sure I am stronger and more coordinated than I was when I started but it's very hard to lose bodyfat with BJJ. That's why I'm thinking of picking up calisthenics on the side, like twice a week. What do you think, is it a good addition to BJJ? Or is it somewhat unhealthy like Crossfit?

I am a few years older than you. I can get lazy rolling with less skilled players. I need to watch my diet first to loose weight. Then ride my mountain bike finally bjj.

olympic lifts and calisthenics are not unhealthy.

doing them without a progression is.

doing them to the point of rhabdomyolysis is.

doing them as fast as possible with shitty technique is.

if you want to lose weight, clean up your diet and add more cardio.

It gets easier. Every day it gets a little easier. But you've got to do it every day. That's the hard part.

I do gymnastic bodies Foundations, Handstand and stretching series. Best thing I've ever done. 36 years old and moving better than when I was a 25-year-old weightlifting and boxing. Injuries disappearing.

GB's philosophy is: "Being strong isn't enough, being flexible isn't enough: you have to be both." You don't need the stretching series since every strength course pairs strength work with flexibility/mobility.