Owning a pizza business?

Ogata

Gold Belt
@Gold
Reaction score
I am a baker and I am considering buying a pizza place that sells pizza by slices.

I am wondering if anyone has experience with running a pizza shop?

No experience but there are a ton of pizza places around here and they all seem to do well

When I was in college I became manager of a sports bar that delivered pizzas and sold pizzas to go

I learned the business inside and out

What do you want to know

When I was in college I became manager of a sports bar that delivered pizzas and sold pizzas to go

I learned the business inside and out

What do you want to know

The rent and net profit as well as unforseen challenges.

Myself I am looking in to a pizza by slice shop.

everyone i know that ownsd a mom and pop pizza place basicvly lives there, are you willing to work 100 hour weeks and grow a moustache, have terible BO, a funny accent, and develop a gambling or dreug problem and be greek?

Any restaurant is a rough business.

It's going to be tough for going up against the major franchises. Location would be key. If you're near a college or lots of bars, you might do OK. You should advertise your location on here and give a Sherdog discount.

The rent and net profit as well as unforseen challenges.

Myself I am looking in to a pizza by slice shop.

rent is a case by case, depending on your area and what kind of location you want

selling by the slice is going to be location location location, since you need heavy traffic

ideally i kept my food costs between 27-30% on pizzas, with cheaper items like garlic knots down at 17-20%. i would adjust the price for my fixed costs

a problem with by the slice, is the same problem fast food places have, in that people expect it immediately, much faster than the amount of time to cook it. so you have to forecast how much pizza to make in advance, at what time of the day, so you dont have extra pizzas sitting there all day and you also dont run out.