Should/Could the UFC implement mandatory title defenses?

Finding Deebo

Swimming in Heaven, lookin' for Craig!!
Banned
Reaction score
Not exactly sure how boxing does it with contracts and what not, but is it a valid idea for the UFC?

they could and in the past they have stripped fighters of the title for not defending

but they will never use it on their golden boys

They should, honestly I feel there is too much stalling. Enough of this Diva shit or get off the pot...

2x a year or move on and give an immediate title shot due to prolonged injury...

Edit: Same with rankings...

I would prefer it but it may be tricky.

I'm not a lawyer but if UFC wants to continue to employ fighters as independent contractors I think they need to give fighters a certain amount of autonomy.

Also, I don't think they NEED to do it. UFC has 11 champions. As long a couple of them fight twice a year they have enough to headline 12 PPV cards a year. And the UFC has the ability to strip champions whenever they take too long to defend.

I would prefer it but it may be tricky.

I'm not a lawyer but if UFC wants to continue to employ fighters as independent contractors I think they need to give fighters a certain amount of autonomy.

Also, I don't think they NEED to do it. UFC has 11 champions. As long a couple of them fight twice a year they have enough to headline 12 PPV cards a year. And the UFC has the ability to strip champions whenever they take too long to defend.
Great points. My follow up question is why does boxing do it then? I Agree with you, but I'm wondering if there's something to it that I'm missing if boxing does it. They have a boatload of weight classes.

Great points. My follow up question is why does boxing do it then? I Agree with you, but I'm wondering if there's something to it that I'm missing if boxing does it. They have a boatload of weight classes.