Womens' BJJ gis--

georgetteo

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I've searched this forum, didn't find anything, and hoping I catch some lurking ladies with my request-- anyone out there have comments on womens' gis? or the fit of a man's gi for a petite lady?

I've been training in BJJ (and some of the other martial arts) for a little while, about 5 days a week. You could say I'm addicted. I roll about half and half, gi vs. no-gi. One of the schools I'm studying at has a preferred gi which they've ordered for me (I think it's an Atama) but the other school requires you to wear *their* patches so I figured I need at least one more BJJ gi... for politeness, and to avoid washing the darn thing every single night of the week.

I'm 5'2", 120 lbs, short little legs.

I've ordered a Keiko Raca girls' gi (size M4), a Gameness Pearl A1, and an Atama summer-weight in A1 as well. Ordered them from BudoVideos and GroundandPound.com.

If no one has any reviews or comments, I guess I'll be posting some when they get in!

I received the Gameness Pearl and the Atama summer-weight gis last night; when I get the Keiko Raca one, I'll photograph them all and post a review.

I will say, preliminarily, that the Atama is very light and comfortable, but since it's made from canvas or twill like a karategi, it seems a little strange to grapple in it. It's definitely very sturdy feeling, but the Gameness gi is the more usual knobbly woven material so appearance-wise, it's more standard. I've never been one to shy away from nonconformity (and if that Kyra Gracie Atama gi were a better shade of pink I'd be all about it) but I don't want people continually telling me I'm wearing the wrong kind of gi just based on the material.

Anyway, photos etc to come.

cool. I love my Gameness Gi's/ I have 2

same here, love my gameness, ive had the single for about 2 years now and its still holding up good. thanks for the info as well, im looking to get my 12yr old in jiujitsu and she is about the same size.